Everything Old is New Again

So one day a couple weeks ago, I dug up my first 35mm camera, a canon AE1 (non program, I ain’t no puss) that was presented to my grandfather by his employer to mark 40 years of service. His name was Eddy Pula too, but he had seen too many things since 1919 to really care about it, he gave it to my Father Bill Pula, on the day he married my Mother Carolyn Merriam, slipped into the camera bag was envelope with a $20 bill and a note to have a good time moving to California with his new wife. The story goes the only time he used this camera was to photograph my birth during a thunderstorm at the end of July 1986, the fast f1.4 lens insured he didn’t have to use a flash and also that all the pictures would be out of focus, cause he wasn’t a photographer but a civil engineer. Then it sat in a closet and waited till I was 14 years old when I signed up for my first photo class, the envelope with the $20 bill and the note had never been opened and I used that to buy a new battery and my first couple rolls of tri-x. I loved the thing, took it with me everywhere, out in the rain, out in the woods, climbing rocks and trees and I must of hit it on every limb or rock on the way up. I shot with it till I turned 20 and was told or just picked up from somewhere that real photographer shoot real film, like bigger than 35mm, so it sat alone in my darkroom accruing dust and getting covered in the accidental developer spills. I don’t know exactly why but I decided to put a new battery in it and see if it would work, of course it worked, and it worked better than ever cause I was better than ever. I’ve been carrying it everywhere, in the rain, into the woods and into all sorts of scraps and parties. Here are some pictures we took together.

2 thoughts on “Everything Old is New Again

Leave a Reply

